All Content

SHM’s Awards of Excellence Honor the Best in Hospital Medicine


Dr. Stephan

The INTERACT team (l-r): Mark Williams, MD, MHM, professor and chief, and Kevin O'Leary, MD, MS, associate chief, division of hospital medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago; Hiren Shah, MD, MBA, unit medical director; and nurse managers Sarah Buenaventura, RN, Patricia O'Sullivan, RN, and Kathryn O'Brien, Northwestern Memorial Hospital.

SHM presented its annual Awards of Excellence to five hospitalists and one hospital care team at its annual meeting May 18 just outside Washington, D.C. The awards honor the best practices in the growing specialty in such fields as quality improvement (QI), research, teaching, and teamwork.

“We are thrilled to honor this year’s award winners. Not only do they exemplify the very best in hospital medicine, they are also leading the way for thousands of other of hospitalists across the country,” says Jack Percelay, MD, SFHM, MPH, FAAP, chair of SHM’s Awards Committee. “These are not just personal achievements, they are achievements for the entire specialty—and they are a great representation of the depth and diversity of hospital medicine.”

The 2013 SHM Awards of Excellence recipients are:

Dr. Stephan

Award for Clinical Excellence: Tierza M. Stephan, MD, FACP, SFHM, of Allina Health, for her work in creating new models for improving clinical practices for hospitalists. She has played a vital role in the development and maintenance of a number of tools designed to make a significant impact on the patient experience, including a “Top 10 List to Improve Communication with Patients,” and a monthly patient experience newsletter.

Dr. Schnipper

Award for Excellence in Research: Jeffrey Schnipper, MD, MPH, FHM of Harvard Medical School and Brigham & Women’s Hospital, for his track record in uniting the often separate worlds of quality improvement (QI) and clinical trial research. In addition to earning eight Awards of Excellence from Partners Heatlhcare, he has been an investigator on 24 funded studies and served as the Principal Investigator SHM’s first large federal research grant, a $1.5 million grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Dr. Sharpe

Award for Excellence in Teaching: Bradley Sharpe, MD, FACP, SFHM, of the University of California at San Francisco (UCSF). Dr. Sharpe earned this year’s award for his continued role in teaching at national meetings, presentations at the Academic Hospitalist Academy, multiple peer-reviewed publications, and scholarly work. He has also been recognized with the UCSF Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award.

Award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine: Patrick J. Torcson, MD, MMM, SFHM, of St. Tammany Parish Hospital in Covington, La., for his advocacy on behalf of hospitalists and hospitals for quality and performance in health care. Dr. Torcson has distinguished himself as a national leader in hospital value-based purchasing and helped hospitalists better understand the concept through SHM’s Value-Based Toolkit.

Dr. Kalupas

Award for Excellence in Hospital Medicine for Nonphysicians: Jeanette Kalupa, DNP, ACNP-BC, APNP, of Hospitalists of Northern Michigan, for her work in improving outcomes for patients and implementing best-practice models in hospitalist programs. Those best-practice models have re-engineered patient-care processes, and her dedication to hospital medicine has paved the way for many other nonphysician providers in the specialty.

Award for Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement: The INTERdisciplinary Approaches to Communication and Teamwork (INTERACT) team at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, for improving teamwork among physicians, nurses, and other healthcare providers. The INTERACT team focuses on one of the most common sites of hospital care: medical surgical units, where effective communication is critical but can be difficult.

SHM is accepting nominations for its 2014 Awards of Excellence, which will be presented at the 2014 annual meeting in Las Vegas. For more information, visit

Brendon Shank is SHM’s associate vice president of communications.

Save These Dates

Now is the time to start planning your hospitalist staffing and personal schedules to take advantage of upcoming SHM educational programming.

Want to learn everything they didn’t teach in medical school and earn the new Certificate of Leadership in Hospital Medicine? Register today for SHM’s Leadership Academy, Oct. 7-10 in Minneapolis. For the first time, all three Leadership Academy courses—“Foundations for Effective Leadership” and both Advanced Leadership courses—will be offered at the same time.

And though it concluded just a little more than a month ago, SHM’s energy-driving, networking-friendly, education-rich annual meeting will take place in just eight months at a new-to-SHM destination: Las Vegas.

Leadership Academy

Oct. 7-10, 2013


Hospital Medicine 2014

March 24-27, 2014

Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino

Las Vegas

Recommended Reading

SHM Allies with Leading Health Care Groups to Advance Hospital Patient Nutrition
The Hospitalist
Fellow in Hospital Medicine Spotlight: Efren Manjarrez, MD, SFHM
The Hospitalist
Hospitalist-Specific Data Shows Rise in Use of Some CPT Codes
The Hospitalist
Peer Benchmarking Network May Reduce Overutilization in Pediatric Bronchiolitis
The Hospitalist
How Can Tumor Lysis Syndrome Be Prevented and Managed in Cancer Patients?
The Hospitalist
Commemorating Round-the-Clock Hospital Medicine Programs
The Hospitalist
First-Year Medical School Enrollment to Climb to 21,434 by 2017
The Hospitalist
IPC-UCSF Fellowship for Hospitalist Group Leaders Demands a Stretch
The Hospitalist
Hospital ICUs Chart Progress in Preventing Central-Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections
The Hospitalist
Hospitals' Battle Against Superbugs Goes Robotic
The Hospitalist
   Comments ()